Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

125

125

St Kitts is not a crappy island, or I just didn’t get far enough off the reservation to see it.  It is, of course, gorgeous- verdant mountains in an unreal caribbean blue sea.  Across the channel is Nevis, which at this distance looks like a stand in for King Kong island.  Today the pressure was just right so that the top of Nevis had a cloud cap most of the day.

I had to go to Sexual Harassment training this morning (it is a requirement for all new crew) and it was as exciting as you might imagine the head of training and development, tried to breathe some life into compulsory corporate training, but the patient was dead on arrival.  Then, later, as part of the employee appreciation week, they closed the messes and put on a multicultural buffet in the big fancy-pants restaurant, the Manhattan.  The food wasn’t so multicultural but seeing the most part of the crew in one place was.  I’m still amazed by how many nationalities are represented here and interestingly enough people tend to cluster by nationalities to certain jobs.  The “bridge stripes” tend to be Greek, engine room guys seem overwhelmingly Ukrainian, cabin cleaners overwhelmingly from India.

I got to go ashore today and decided to get out of the port mall and take a walk along the shore.  Now as pretty as the island is, when I say shore you might be thinking beach.  Don’t.  It was the kind of shore that is laid with concrete with huge boulders set in it.  The crevices between the boulders serves as a fantastic collector for trash and the walkway was…well, it could be charitably described as unimproved.

Not far from the spectacular deals on Rolexes were a group of young boys swimming off a small pier, just kids having a good time.  Further down was a clutch of older men sitting in the shade on the breakwater, one of them was working on a small flask sized bottle of some kind of white liquor.  This stretch of the island wasn’t for servicing tourists, it was not clean or kept, things were rusting and falling down.  It is a shame it was Sunday because I passed a small restaurant that had a chalk board and yesterday’s special was garlic curry conch,dammit, a day too soon.  This was the part of town where you get your hurricane shutters and your rent car, where boats are parked on trailers and have been there long enough to have plants growing out of them.

I really wanted to get to the peninsula because it looked, on google earth, that it would be a good place to fly my paraglider, but it is farther away than a good walk and will have to wait until next time and I will have to get a cab.  On the way back, I passed the old man who had been drinking and he called me over.  I wasn’t sure if I was about to get panhandled or what, but went over anyway.  His name was Oliver, old with more fingers than teeth.  He was just interested in where I was from and what I was doing.  I asked him what a fair taxi price would be to get over to the peninsula, and he told me, “Oh maybe $50 US.”  I told him that that was way too much and he agreed then told me that if I bought him some gas he would take me.

Tough decision
cheap ride
drunk old guy
Maybe next time

Tomorrow is St Maarten and my day off, except for STAR training at 9:15.  I have been told to go to Orient beach, the riviera of the caribe and the premier clothing optional beach.  Hmmmm Naked elderly dutch men.   Guess I will have to sleep on it.

October 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. You are a very good writer.

    Comment by Mom | October 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Comment by mom, Nuff said, but appreciated

      Comment by davidsjones | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. St. Kitts is actually a pretty cool island, if you get to explore it. The snorkeling around it is pretty good. And Nevis is spectacular. It’s always surrounded by clouds, which is what gives it it’s name. It’s amazingly beautiful. Again, the snorkeling is great. And the beaches are fairly private.

    Actually, Club Orient beach is on the French side of St. Maartin/St. Martin. Worth checking out — but take sunscreen. I bet you will feel very, very pale 😉

    I’ve actually only been to the Dutch side of the island, which was nice but had hellacious winds and seas!!

    Comment by John Webb | October 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

