Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

117 afternoon

and just when I needed it good news.  Not even the kind of good news that is tempered with bad news, just plain old good news.

The package I was expecting that was left in Baltimore…. wasn’t  It was left in the documentation office and when they got sick of looking at it, they sent it to crew welfare, who then contacted the spa manager who then contacted me.

It was, of course, opened.  Which cheezed me off a bit, but what are you going to do?  Our security guys are mostly Israeli and they tend to take things really really seriously.  Did I mention how serious the Israelis are about security?  So if someone was going to send me a letter (ya, I know, but just sayin’) and you wanted to put some talc in it as a gag, don’t. 

I can’t tell you how happy it made me to get a package from Jenny.  Snacks, a nice card, some stuff I need.  Heaven.  The magnets were a nice touch and they are awesomely sticky. 

Way to take a day that didn’t start so well and give it a real shot in the arm.

November 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Glad you got it! Hopefully, it will make day 117 a bit more bearable.

    Comment by Jenny | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. What would you like in a ‘care’ package that you can’t get on the ship? Or is just the getting of the care package the thing?

    Comment by Mom | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • well given the state of delivery I would say nothing perishable. I would love to have a picture of the two of you that I can hang in my room. I can get stuff on the boat, mostly and in ports I can get stuff. Jenny sent me some things that I can’t get but it was just nice to get a package from home. But holy cow what I wouldn’t give for a good beer.

      Things to look forward to on the boat are few and far between. But getting better. Anything where you drop off the face of your confort zone takes some getting used to and so I am being patient.

      I mean, I am in the bahamas today, so I guess it isn’t all bad.

      Comment by davidsjones | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. hope you got to absentee vote

    Comment by Mom | November 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

