Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

98 1/4 down

We are in Balmer and ready to turn around.  Today marks the day when I am officially 1/4 the way through my time onboard the Mercury.  So I only have to do what I have done, 3 more times and I am home. 

Time flys when you are…… OK, sometimes it is fun, sometimes it is really hard work and like this morning, having to wait for an hour in a whole boat immigration, just to have my passport checked, it was malakia.  A lot of Greeks on the ship, you always learn the swear words first.  Except my little girls from S. Africa haven’t taught me any in Afrikaans, but I should ask.  Gut Danke

November 20, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Yo blixom.

    David, it’s a wild world out there. Good to know you’re ghosting around the Caribbean with me. It’s a humdinger of a job. I’m jealous of your porthole.

    Comment by kerry shepherd | November 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I was told by the spa manager that people who don’t normally speak Afrikaans will swear in it because it sounds so much worse. You might be jealous of my porthole, but I’m jealous of your huge room. If I stand in the middle of my room, there is one orientation where I could spread my arms out wide and not hit anything and even then we are the lucky ones. I hope I geta chance to meet up with you on a port day. We just left for our Charleston, Key West Bahamas route. LOTS of kids….. lots and lots of them. I get used to wrikles and now I have teenagers wandering around looking for trouble.

      Comment by davidsjones | November 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. I can share some German gems which is pretty close to Afrikaans

    Comment by Mom | November 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

