Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

92 best patient response ever

Male patient born in 1928, when I was going over his intake form with him, he told me that that date usually gets a, “Wow!”  I had to tell him that on a cruise ship that isn’t so special. 

This guy said he grew up surfing coney island and that is was the greatest place in the world and even though you had the , “Italians, Jews, Irish… you name it, we all got along.” 

He also told me about the American Nazis before the war and how they would go to the bath houses  and bring signs saying no Jews or dogs and how the older boys in his group decided to teach them a lesson by burning down the bath house.  As he said, “They were simpler times back then.”  so if there is an unsolved bath house fire from the early 40’s… it was the kids.

He couldn’t wait to be old enough to enlist to go fight in WWII and almost as soon as he enlisted came VJ day and he spent the next two years surveying in Alaska.

But here is why I am writing about this guy.  Before I leave the room I always ask if the patient is comfortable.  To which, without missing a beat he responded, ” I make a living.” 

I hope that when I am in my eighties, I’m still cracking wise.  Maybe not vaudeville, but at least have the presence of mind and alertness to still be making with the funny.

November 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Ha! That’s perfect. I think you’ve seen your future.

    Comment by Jenny | November 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. I hope to be about 10 years older than this guy by the time I am in his shape…. or more.

    Comment by davidsjones | November 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. That fellow is ten years younger than your grandmother.

    Comment by Mom | November 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. and ten times funnier.

    Comment by davidsjones | November 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. probably

    Comment by Mom | November 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

