Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

39- I have crossed over into the thirties.

Everyone seems to get really excited about Miami.  They all want to get off the ship and go shopping or to a beach but not me and let me tell you why. 

1.  The port security here is insane.  Nowhere else do we see the kind of crazyness that happens here.  We are only allowed to get off the ship in windows of time, usually the half hour at the top of the hour.  We have to be back 2 hours before we sail and instead of just dealing with our security we have port immigration onboard, like we do in no other American port.  I’m not going to stand in line for an hour just to go see Miami.

2.  Corporate headquarters are here, right on the dock, so as you can imagine, when we dock everyone’s manager or corporate overseer comes on board to inspect what is going on.  This reminds me a bit of a joke I just saw.  My guess it that this has been around the block a bit, but I will retell it anyway.

There is a guy in a hot air balloon and he is lost.  He sees someone down on the ground and lowers himself to ask for help.  He say to the guy on the ground, “Hey, I need your help, I am lost and trying to meet up with a friend for lunch, where am I?”  The guy takes about 10 minutes to answer and says, “You are in a hot air balloon at precisly these coordinates, moving at 2 knots with a heading of 190 degrees.”  The guy in the balloon says, “Wow, you must be an engineer.”  “Why yes, I am.  How did you know?” says the guy on the ground.  “Well you took forever to answer the question and while you were techincally correct in everything you told me, your answer does me no good and as a result of asking you I am now even later than I would be and you still haven’t been any help to me.”  The man on the ground says, “You must be a manager.”  “Well, that is right , how did you know?” says balloon boy.  The man on the ground replied, “Because you don’t know where you are or where you are going, you have made promises to people you couldn’t possibly keep and now because you asked me a question, somehow this is all my fault.”

This is how I pretty much feel about corporate management.  So no beach, no line to get off, and if I meet up with anyone in a hot air balloon, I will just blow more hot air at them.

January 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. holy crap, that joke is my work life.

    Comment by bill | January 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m afraid way too many people can say that.

    Comment by davidsjones | January 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

