Davidsjones's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

20- Foggy departure

One of my favorite things to do when we leave Baltimore, besides leave Baltimore is to go up on deck 14 all the way forward and watch as we go under the Key bridge.  Depending on the tide, we clear that thing by as little as 10ft and it really is cool.

I have been drafted to be the guy who does the spa raffle, something about sparkling personality or some other bullshit Michaela fed me to get me to take over from her and I always tell people after the raffle, that I am going to be up on deck 14 for this and they should check it out.  I usually get a good 10 or so people to come up there and they tend to be somewhat hardy as it has been pretty cold lately.

As we were coming out of Baltimore it was really dank and foggy, and then what happened next was.. well… it shouldn’t have come as a surprise, it really shouldn’t I have been in fog before, but you know what big ships do when it is foggy?  Ya, guess where they put fog horns?  High and forward, say on deck 14 all the way where I was. 

Fog horns are designed to be one thing.  Really really really loud.  I have never been so startled in my entire life and the looks on the faces of the dozen or so hardy souls standing around me said just one thing.  OK, two:  1.  I think I am going to have to visit the restroom on our way back and 2.  How could the guy in the white coat betray us like that.

Lesson:  Fog horns are fucking loud when you are standing right in front of them, for that matter they are loud relative to any position you could take.  A fog horn with no observer is fucking loud.

February 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Good thing nobody up there had a heart condition. You’d really have to use your doctor skills. Oh wait, skillz.

    Comment by Jenny | February 6, 2011 | Reply

    • CPR while I call a star code and get the med team up here

      Comment by davidsjones | February 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

